The State of Nevada grants its residents the privilege of carrying a concealed firearm if they apply for and are granted a Carry and Concealed Firearm permit, aka a “CCW”. With this permit in hand, one can legally carry and conceal a firearm anywhere in Nevada. With the exception of a few prohibited places, such as schools, government buildings, court houses or any other place that specifically prohibits firearms. Unfortunately, many residents are either not eligible for this permit because of a prior criminal conviction or simply chose not to apply for one and still carry concealed weapons and firearms, which is a criminal offense in Las Vegas, Nevada.
If you are granted a CCW and carry your licensed firearm into an unauthorized location, you would be charged with a misdemeanor and face up to six months and jail and a fine of up to $1,000. The penalties for carrying a concealed weapon or firearm are much greater if you do not have a valid CCW. For example, if you are arrested for a first time offense of carrying a concealed knife or dagger you would be charged with a gross misdemeanor, and face up to one year in prison and a fine of up to $2,000. Any subsequent arrest for the same charge would be charged as a felony, where you would face 1-4 years in prison and a fine of up to $5,000. Lastly, if you are arrested for carrying a concealed firearm (without a permit), an explosive device or substance, or any other dangerous weapon, you will be charged with a felony, and face 1-5 years in prison and a fine of up to $10,000.
Las Vegas Criminal Defense Attorney Michael A. Troiano is experienced in defending his clients for a variety of weapons and firearm offenses, such as Ex-Felon Possession of a Firearm, and Use of a Deadly Weapon in Commission of a Crime. He will discuss all possible defenses on your carrying a concealed weapon charge and work towards a dismissal and help you avoid jail or prison.