Statutory Sexual Seduction

Statutory Sexual Seduction also known as Statutory Rape in Las Vegas, Nevada ranges from a Gross Misdemeanor to a Felony depending on the defendant’s age.  The age of consent in Nevada is 16 years old. Therefore any sexual acts between an adult 18 years or older and anyone under the age of 16 is illegal and the adult who engaged in the sexual act will be charged with Statutory Sexual Seduction, under Nevada law.  Consent or lack thereof is the primary distinction between Statutory Sexual Seduction and Sexual Assault/Rape.  For example, if Trey was 18 year old and his girlfriend Vanessa was 15 years old and they engaged in consensual sex, Trey would be charged with Statutory Sexual Assault because of Vanessa’s age, regardless of the fact that she “consented” to engage in the act.  If Trey physically forced Vanessa to engage in sexual acts against her will, he would then be charged with Sexual Assault/Rape.

Statutory Sexual Seduction is a “strict-liability” crime, meaning a defendant’s intent is not a defense to the crime. For example, 30 year old Marco is having a cocktail at the bar and meets Katie, a beautiful looking woman who Marco believes to be in her mid to late twenties. They strike up a conversation and decide to head back to Marco’s place for the evening. Once at Marco’s place, Katie consents to engage in sexual intercourse with Marco.  Unfortunately for Marco, Katie is only 15 years old and tells her parents about the evening.  Katie’s parents then inform the Las Vegas Metropolitan Police Department, who in turn issues a warrant for Marco’s arrest. The fact that Katie was in a bar where you are required to be 21 years of age or older and looked to be in her mid to late twenties is no defense, even if Katie lied and told Marco she was in her twenties, if they engaged in intercourse, Marco would be charged with Statutory Sexual Seduction because of Katie’s age. 

If charged with Statutory Sexual Seduction and you are under the age of 21 you will be charged with a gross misdemeanor and face up to one year in jail and a fine of up to $2,000.  If charged with Statutory Sexual Seduction and you are over the age of 21 you will be charged with a felony and face 1-5 years in prison and a fine of up to $10,000.  Additionally, if you are a teacher and charged with Statutory Sexual Seduction with a student you would be charged with a felony and face anywhere from 1-6 years of prison and a fine of up to $10,000 depending on the facts and circumstances of your case.  It is important to note, if convicted you may be required to register as a sex offender for life. Las Vegas Criminal Defense Attorney Michael A. Troiano is experienced in defending his clients for a variety of sexual related charges ranging from indecent exposure, to open and gross lewdness and sexual assault/rape.  He will discuss all possible defenses on your statutory sexual seduction charge and work towards a dismissal or reduction to a lesser non sex related charge and help you avoid prison.