Failure to register as a sex offender is a Felony offense in Las Vegas, Nevada. If you have been previously convicted of a sex crime and ordered to register as a sex offender, you are required to register with local law enforcement within 48 hours of being released from custody. In addition to the initial registration, you must complete a sex offender verification form annually. If for any reason a registered sex offender changes their address, job, name, or status as a student they are required to notify law enforcement within 48 hours of any of the above changes. Additionally, if you remain in a jurisdiction for longer than thirty days after initially reporting a stay of less than 30 days, you must notify law enforcement as well.
If a registered sex offender fails to comply with any of the above regulations, including providing false or misleading information to local law enforcement they are in violation of Nevada law. A first time Failure to Register as a Sex Offender offense carries a penalty of 1-4 years of prison and a fine of up to $5,000. If a sex offender is charged with a second violation within 7 years of his first offense, he will face a mandatory 1-5 years in prison and a fine of up to $10,000. Las Vegas Criminal Defense Attorney Michael A. Troiano is experienced in defending his clients for a variety of sexual related charges ranging from indecent exposure, to open and gross lewdness and sexual assault/rape. He will discuss all possible defenses on your Failure to Register as a Sex Offender charge and work towards a dismissal or reduction to a lesser non sex related charge and help you avoid prison.