Voluntary Manslaughter in Las Vegas, Nevada is a Felony. Nevada Revised Statute “NRS” 200.020 states what is required to bring the charge of Voluntary Manslaughter, “there must be a serious and highly provoking injury inflicted upon the person killing, sufficient to excite an irresistible passion in a reasonable person, or an attempt by the person killed to commit a serious personal injury on the person killing.”
Unlike a First Degree Murder charge, Voluntary Manslaughter has no premeditation. The killing must be committed during the heat of passion, in order to qualify as Voluntary Manslaughter and not the more serious offense of Murder. When determining whether premeditation existed prior to the killing, many legal commentators explain, “premeditation can occur within a twinkle of an eye”. Simply meaning, even a very brief moment of hesitation between the provocation by the victim and the act by the accused can be used against defendant when determining whether or not premeditation existed. If premeditation is absent, Voluntary Manslaughter would be charged.
Voluntary Manslaughter carries a potential prison term of 1-10 years and a fine of up to $10,000. If faced with a Voluntary Manslaughter charge hire an experienced Criminal Defense Attorney who can present the best defenses to this charge which include but are not limited to self-defense and justifiable homicide. Las Vegas Criminal Defense Attorney Michael A. Troiano will discuss all possible defenses on your Voluntary Manslaughter charge and work towards a dismissal or reduction to a lesser offense and help you avoid prison.