Vehicular Manslaughter in Las Vegas, Nevada is a misdemeanor. Nevada Revised Statute “NRS” 484B.651 defines Vehicular Manslaughter as “a person who, while driving or in actual physical control of any vehicle, proximately causes the death of another person through an act or omission that constitutes simple negligence is guilty of vehicular manslaughter and shall be punished for a misdemeanor.” Simple negligence while driving can be any minor traffic violation by the accused which results in the death of another. If your behavior is deemed “reckless” instead of simply negligent you will be charged with Reckless Driving Causing Death, which is a Felony offense in Las Vegas, Nevada.
Vehicular Manslaughter carries penalties which include up to 6 months in jail, a $1,000 fine and a one year suspension of your driver’s license. If the death occurred in a working zone, those penalties can double. If charged with Vehicular Manslaughter, immediately contact Las Vegas Criminal Defense Attorney Michael A. Troiano. He will discuss all possible defenses on your Vehicular Manslaughter charge and work towards a dismissal or reduction to a lesser offense and help you avoid jail.