Duty to render aid and give information, aka “Hit and Run”, in Las Vegas, Nevada ranges from a Misdemeanor to a Felony depending on the facts and circumstances of your case. If your hit and run offense only involves property damage, for example, a minor accident, or hitting a parked car or street pole, you would be charged with misdemeanor hit and run, and face up to 6 months in jail, a fine of up to $1,000 and 6 demerit points on your license. If your hit and run offense involves bodily injury to another or death, you would be charged with felony hit and run, and face 2-15 years of prison, a fine of up to $5,000 and license suspension.
If you leave the scene of the accident and another motorist takes down your license plate, the Las Vegas Metropolitan Police Department’s Traffic Divisions Hit and Run unit will be notified, and immediately start looking for you. Therefore, it is important to contact The Law Office of Michael A. Troiano immediately, to guide you through these next important steps. Mr. Troiano will contact the police on your behalf to notify the authorities that you are represented by an attorney and stop them from issuing a warrant for your arrest. He will also personally set up a meeting with a hit and run detective to start the legal process.
Getting cited for a traffic ticket in Las Vegas, Nevada can be a very frustrating and costly experience. When cited for hit and run you are facing potential fines, traffic school, and jail or prison in serious cases. You can trust The Law Office of Michael A. Troiano to handle your traffic ticket matter in a timely and efficient manner, and allow you to not have to deal with the hassle and frustration of traffic court.