A cell phone ticket in Las Vegas, Nevada is considered a Misdemeanor offense. Nevada Revised Statute “NRS” 484B.165, makes it unlawful to use a “handheld wireless communications device to type or enter text, send or read data, engage in nonvoice communication or engage in voice communications without use of hands-free device unlawful.” Basically, any use of your cell phone, such as reading a text, making a call, or checking your Facebook status is a violation of the law.
If cited with a cell phone ticket for your first time, you are facing a fine of $50 and a conviction which will stay on your DMV record and potentially affect your insurance rates. If cited with a second cell phone ticket within seven years, you are facing a fine of $100 and 4 demerit points on your driver’s license. If cited for a third cell phone ticket within seven years, you are facing a fine of $250 and a six month suspension of your driver’s license.
Getting cited for a traffic ticket in Las Vegas, Nevada can be a very frustrating and costly experience. When cited for a cell phone ticket you are facing potential fines, demerit points, and a suspension of your driver’s license. You can trust The Law Office of Michael A. Troiano to handle your traffic ticket matter in a timely and efficient manner, and allow you to not have to deal with the hassle and frustration of traffic court.